Digital Literacy Blog 1: Introduction the course and my expectation.

Digital Literacy Blog 1: Introduction the course and my expectation.

Introduction:

After I finished the Technology Enhanced Learning course, I started the Digital Literacy course. So, I wanted to write a blog about the new subject to achieve two objectives: to introduce Digital Literacy and to discuss my expectation of what I will learn throughout the course.

 This my first blog of the digital literacy module. from this blog, all the topics will be my choice about topics that interests me. This will help me to explore in depth these topics and to learn them in an academic way. Today I am going to talk a bit about what digital literacy is? Then, I am going to present my expectations of this module finally I am going to conclude by discussing my plans throughout this course.

What is digital literacy?
Martin(2005) has come up with this brief definition of digital literacy:
“Digital Literacy is the awareness, attitude and ability of individuals to appropriately use digital tools and facilities to identify, access, manage, integrate, evaluate, analyse and synthesize digital resources, construct new knowledge, create media, expressions, and communicate with others, in the context of specific life situations, in order to enable constructive social action; and to reflect upon this process”.
This definition made me realise that my understanding of digital literacy was limited to the ability of the individuals to use technology in general. Now, I think I should consider other things related to digital literacy, such as communication, ideas sharing,  knowledge development and so on.

I tried to find videos that explain the concept of digital literacy. I found a very simple video to explain the concept and why it is important here :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2k3C-iB88w

My expectations:

I expect from this course several things:

  • Develop my group learning that I already started in TEL course. This will help me build more team-work skills.
  • Have a better understanding of digital literacy and how I can apply it into practice.
  • Have the creative skills to organise and present information that is digitally appropriate.

Conclusion and my plans:
It is clear that there are a lot of interesting things to explore. I am planning to try to make a link between my blogs to build a big picture of my understanding throughout this course supported by relevant academic references and reflected by my experience or my thoughts.

Martin, A. (2005). DigEuLit–a European framework for digital literacy: a progress report. Journal of eLiteracy2(2), 130-136.

7 thoughts on “Digital Literacy Blog 1: Introduction the course and my expectation.

  1. Hi Hajar,

    The definition you offer shows that digital literacy is a much wider topic than we first realised. It seems a lot more complex than being able to use technology and hopefully we’ll have enough time to explore the issues of digital literacy.

    I think you have set some good expectations for yourself – it will be interesting to develop our learning as a group rather than as individuals. I wonder how different group learning and group work is face-to-face vs. online.

    You mention that you expect to develop your creative skills. Are there any particular creative skills you would like to develop?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jen,
      Thanks for your comment. I am not sure what exactly creative skills I need to develop but I always think how can I make the useful knowledge I have available for others. I believe there are so many ways to do that but I am not familiar with any of them yet.

      do you have any advice?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think our blogs and videos are nice way to be creative and share our learning. You were really creative with your Moovly video : ) I like to make word clouds using http://www.wordclouds.com/ – it is an easy way to be creative with your key ideas. I am sure there are lots more ways to be creative but these are the first things that come to my mind x I think the best way to develop creative skills is to not be afraid to try and then to share because it gives the creation life when it is out in the world.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Hajar
    I liked Martin’s explanation of digital literacy as there are so many variations – though I do not think I have yet come across a contradictory definition, or one that does not allude to the possibilities an individual has to change the way they learn if they are ‘digitally literate’. I could not access the full report but it would be interesting to find out what progress Martin thought had been made, how this was being measured and further recommendations for development of digital literacy skills.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi,
      Thanks for your comment.
      I agree with you there are many different thoughts about digital literacy but for now, this what it appears to me and I think it is wider than what I know before.
      if you look at:
      Martin, A. (2005). DigEuLit–a European framework for digital literacy: a progress report. Journal of eLiteracy, 2(2), 130-136

      you can find the process of creating this definition

      Hajar

      Like

  3. Thank you Hajer for your post. In your first blog you have presented an introduction and your expectations of the digital literacy. Your definition of the digital literacy has explained in depth what is the digital literacy. The definition helped me to see the digital literacy from various angles. I hope you achieve your expectations of this module.

    Regards
    Mariam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

